Review: Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

When the internet is plastered with quotes from a book, you know it must be good.

v1.bTsxMTE2ODY5MjtqOzE3NDk5OzEyMDA7ODAwOzEyMDAI have wanted to read The Perks of Being a Wallflower for years, and I’m so excited I finally finished it. I absolutely love the style Chbosky wrote in; it really sounded like a freshman talking to me, because of the grammatical structuring of the sentences. Chbosky didn’t spend too much time dwelling on details, but I still got a clear sense of the scenes. I found it easy to empathize with his characters, and I really liked how unique each one was.

I was a little shocked at how vulgar and uncensored the book was, but I appreciated it in the end. It was nice reading about a character that was so honest with his readers. It made Charlie easier to like as a character.

I would recommend this book for young teens to read. You might disagree with me on that if you’ve read it, because it covers a ton of sensitive subjects. I think that exposing teens to those same situations and issues will help the ones who are afraid to talk about their problems, because they think they are the only ones with that problem. They need reassurance, and this book might give it to them.

Perks is not my favorite book I’ve ever read, but I enjoyed it. I’m glad I finally got around to reading it. I like when I’ve established an expectation for a book, and it still manages to surprise me. Maybe this one will surprise you, too.

One thought on “Review: Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Leave a Reply

